September 10, 2010

Three RUSD Schools Named Wisconsin Schools of Recognition

Three Racine Unified School District elementary schools were recently named Wisconsin Schools of Recognition by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. Jerstad-Agerholm, North Park and West Ridge Elementary Schools were recipients of this impressive award.

To receive this recognition, schools must be either a Title I school or Title I-eligible, be in the top quartile of the state poverty rates, have above-average student academic performance scores on the 2009-10 WKCE exams in reading and math and have met adequate yearly progress indicators for the last two consecutive years.

The 2010-11Wisconsin Schools of Recognition will be invited to attend a recognition ceremony at the State Capitol at noon on Monday, Oct. 18 in which State Superintendent Tony Evers will congratulate the winners. In addition, each School of Recognitionwill receive $2,000 to be used for school-related purposes and will be eligible to compete for a $250,000 Wisconsin Schools of Recognition grant. Teachers at these schools are also eligible to compete for the Wisconsin Schools of Recognition Teacher Fellowship Program.

Get more Post! Follow us on Facebook and Twitter. Want to advertise? Learn how!

No comments:

Post a Comment