March 24, 2010

Volunteer Center will honor 12 at luncheon

Twelve individuals will be honored for their volunteer activities at a ceremony and luncheon at the Racine Marriott on Friday April 16. A reception and silent auction will be held from 11:30 a.m. to noon. The welcome luncheon is from noon – 12:45 p.m. and concludes with awards program by 1:30 p.m. Tickets are available at the Volunteer Center, 886-9612.

The twelve were chosen based on volunteer accomplishments; impact on an individual group or community; and leadership from nominations submitted by area individuals and nonprofit organizations.

Kristin Hildebrandt, Agriculture Award, Sponsored by CNH American: Kristin has been an outstanding 4-H youth leader, President of Wisconsin Junior Poultry Association, is a Girl Scout Gold Award Winner, and a teen member-at-large on the Girl Scouts Council’s Board of Directors. Her volunteerism and leadership abilities are outstanding for a young leader of tomorrow.

Diane Carlson, Arts & Culture Award, Sponsored by Twin Disc: Diane has been volunteering in the arts since 8th grade. She is one of the founding members of the Over Our Head Players and for 18 years has continued to give freely of her time and talents to this and other community groups.

Andrea Bumpurs, Economic Development Award, Sponsored by Midwest Paralegal Services: Andrea began volunteering in 1966 as a Peace Corps member in Gabon teaching English as a foreign language. Her integrity, dedication & motivation to continue volunteering and promoting Racine is shared in her numerous and varied community involvements and excellent leadership.

Laura Terry, Education Award, Sponsored by Educators Credit Union: Laura volunteers twice a week instructing Racine Friendship Clubhouse members in computer skills. Her determination, patience and compassion have greatly impacted clubhouse members.

Sharon Shouldice, Environmental Award, Sponsored by Modine Manufacturing: Sharon has been a master gardener since 1994, sharing her talents and expertise volunteering at Southern Oaks Girls School, Graham Public Library in Union Grove, Racine Zoo and on numerous other projects. She spends countless hours in planning, organizing and implementing ways to be an effective volunteer.

Gloria Rodgers, Good Neighbor Award, Sponsored by Racine County State Farm Insurance: Gloria is an avid Meals on Wheels, HALO, Toys for Tots and Sister Friend for the Racine-Kenosha Birthing Project. For 39 years she has also been a Big Sister for numerous little sisters and assisting neighbors in need.

Sandy DeWalt, Health Services Award, Sponsored by Frederick & Deborah Genaway: Sandy, has been a volunteer and advocate for Sexual Assault Services for 10 years, volunteering more than 2,700 hours. She answers the 24-hour crisis line and responds to those in need at the hospital as a volunteer advocate for sexual assault survivors.

Sammuel Markstrom, Heroic Award, Sponsored by Volunteer Center of Racine Board of Directors: Sammuel, is an avid Ham radio operator who volunteers more than 20 hours a month at his young age of 10. He volunteers during disasters at the Sheriff’s station running nets, giving weather reports and assisting 911 operators. In 2009 his messages resulted in a warning to residents to seek shelter after the Kenosha tornado was spotted.

Chuck Joseph, Human Service Award, Sponsored by Racine Dominicans: Chuck has been a TRIAD volunteer for six years sharing his technical writing skills on safety matters, crime prevention, and especially fraud/scams, which target seniors. He is also a member of the Safety Commission providing traffic safety issues for Racine County.

Karen Schmidt, Senior Award, Sponsored by Styberg Foundation: Karen is an avid senior volunteer. For 25 years she served as a Big Sister, a Visitors & Convention Bureau volunteer, 20 year Caledonia garden club member, 1888 school house volunteer and for 10 years she has been a senior volunteer with the Volunteer Center serving as an Advisory Council member, Community Relations member, baker, basket maker and more!

George “Skip” Twardosz, Veteran Award, Sponsored by Tri City National Bank: Skip is a veteran, retired police officer and Emergency Management Coordinator for Racine City Emergency Management. As an advisor to UW Parkside’s Sacred Circle he shares his Potawatomi descent and woodland style traditional dancing with students.

Racheal Smetana, Youth Award, Sponsored by Johnson Bank: Racheal is a St. Catherine’s high school avid volunteer. This young teen is dependable, enthusiastic, dedicated, self-motivated and reliable. She is a mentor for middle school youth, tutors for HALO, volunteers for Habitat for Humanity, Special Olympics, Camp Kinder, St. Rose Meal Program, and various other community activities. At St. Catherine’s, she is President of the Student Council, Editor of the school yearbook, peer helper and more.


  1. Yay, Andrea! And Yay! Gloria. I've worked with these two women, and they are sterling, dedicated professionals whose are focused on making our community better. We need more like them.

  2. that's "who are focused...."

  3. Congratulations Diane! Those of us who know you already KNOW your commitment, passion and dedication! You are the foundation of a strong, growing organization providing our community with the best live performance art around.

  4. Congrats, Diane! Your tireless, unwavering dedication of time and talent to the Racine theatre scene is an inspiration. You are the paramount example for all OOHPs volunteers!