February 1, 2010

Whitman honored for over 20 years service on Landmarks Preservation Commission

For the first time in over a decade, there's a new chairman of the city's Landmarks Preservation Commission.

Long-time Chairwoman Mary Whitman recently resigned from the commission after serving over 20 years as an appointed member. She was elected chairwoman in 1999.

Whitman will be replaced as head of the commission by Eric Marcus, who was elected chairman on Monday night. Robert Hartmann was elected vice chairman.

Marcus is running for the Racine City Council this spring. He's seeking the open Second District seat being vacated by Alderman Bob Anderson, who also serves on the Landmarks Preservation Commission. Marcus is being challenged by Jameel Ghuari.

After electing Marcus and Hartmann, the commission's first action was to unanimously pass a resolution thanking Whitman for her service to the city.

Other commission members include: Paul Zens, Tony Veranth and Roger Lacock.

1 comment:

  1. HATS OFF to this great Lady!

    Mary Whitman has been a major player in preservation work around the city for decades. She is one of the few people that rolled up her sleeves and made things happen!