May 4, 2010

St. Lucy team wins Library's Battle of the Books

Battle of the Books Champs, the St. Lucy School Bombers:
Lorenc Gasparov, Michael Orth, Emma Suchla and Emily Diehn.

The Bombers from the St. Lucy School have won the Racine Public Library's 10th annual “Battle of the Books” tournament with a score of 88 out of a possible 90 points. Team members were Emily Diehn, Lorenc Gasparov, Michael Orth and Emma Suchla. The team’s name was engraved on the Battle of the Books Champion Plaque and each member received a trophy and award certificate.

The Battle of the Books is a literature contest for fourth and fifth grade students. More than 120 teams  from 25 schools participated over a four-week period. Teams were comprised of up to four students, with over 450 students participating.

Participants had to read and become knowledgeable about the content of 40 books selected by youth services librarians. Meets were held at the library with 4-5 teams competing.Team members were asked questions about the books they read and accumulated points based on their right answers. The team with the highest score among all participating teams was declared the champion.

Seven more top-scoring teams were placed in the “Winners’ Circle” and invited to attend the awards ceremony on April 23. In second place with  87 points was the Wind Point School Readers: Alicia Espinoza, Samantha Jensen, Shelby Kisting and Kijung Kwak..

Tying for third place with 84 points were The Prairie School Reading Rampage: Francesca Bontempo, Kate Munro, and Emma Schatz; Racine Montessori school Da Flamez: Zachariah Bradley, Alec Buhler, Maxie Collen, and Ricky Granger; the St. Lucy School Spartans: Amanda Bergevian, David Louison, Teddy May and Nicole Meisner; the St. Rita School Readers of the Night: Brandon Dobrowski, Megan Cisewski, Laura Panthofer and Adam Schuls; the 21st Century Prep Book Worms: Emily bollendorf, Sarah Busey, Emma Graves and Isabella Huizar; and the Wind Point School Book Dreamers: Imunique Dawkins, Ryan Shea, Anna Thompson and Mya Williams. All Winners' Circle participants received commemorative medals and award certificates.

The following teams were received Honorable Mention ribbons and certificates for their strong showing with scores of over 80 points: the Gifford School "Gifford Guys," the John Paul II Academy Reading Machines and the St. Lucy School Know-It-Alls.

No comments:

Post a Comment